Russian Song

March 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

Since my last post I have composed a 3rd Piano Sonata, two new Mazurkas (No. 4 and No. 5) and a short ‘Russian Song’ of which I have uploaded the first page here. I have developed many other subjects – some beautiful but not yet worthy of developing – I thus let them stay dorment in my mind while reaching for something more striking. While waking up I do enjoy playing various compositions in my mind (particularly the five Mazurkas) with different orchestrations. There are so many possibilities and one solution isn’t necessarily better than another. This interchangeability of instruments demonstrates how tone doesn’t have any meaning in isolation – it is the changes of tone that is the central thing. Likewise if a painting based on tones of blue has the hue changed so they becomes tones of red, I don’t think what the work of art communicates – nor the ‘success’ of the art – would usually change very much despite the absolute tones being entirely unrelated.

 

Russian Song

 

Tagged: , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Russian Song at Composing Notes.

meta

